Curriculum Innovation

The curriculum innovation (CI) subcommittee supports the development of sustainability pathways as its central priority. Pathways are clusters of courses with a common theme of sustainability that allow students to study that theme from various disciplinary and methodological perspectives. Such curricular pathways would provide each undergraduate student with the opportunity to add sustainability learning to their program, no matter what program they are enrolled in, and to be given community-engaged learning opportunities, and develop cross-cutting interdisciplinary skills, in so doing.

Crucial to the development of the sustainability pathways approach is inventories of available courses with sustainability content and community-engaged learning opportunities. The CI subcommittee has overseen the development of the inventories led by the Expanding Sustainability Education (ESE) group comprised of five undergraduate students.

CI Goals

  • Sustainability curriculum pathways for every undergraduate student
  • Sustainability community of practice for faculty


TBC, Undergraduate student
Aviatar Inbar, Graduate student, Master of Science in Sustainability Management Program, University of Toronto Mississauga

Steve Easterbrook, Professor and Director, School of the Environment
Shashi Kant, Professor and Director, Master of Science in Sustainability Management Program, University of Toronto Mississauga
Bryan Karney, Professor and Associate Dean, Cross-Disciplinary Programs, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering
James MacLellan, Assistant Professor and Program Director, Environmental Studies, Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences, University of Toronto Scarborough
Liat Margolis, Professor, Associate Dean, Research, and Director, Green Roof Innovation Testing Laboratory, Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design
John Robinson, Professor, Presidential Advisor on the Environment, Climate Change, and Sustainability

Daniella Mallinick, Director, Academic Programs, Planning & Quality Assurance, Office of the Vice-Provost, Academic Programs

Project Manager: Ayako Ariga