Student Group Inventory

The 2020 Inventory on Sustainability Related Student Entities at U of T includes the U of T student groups, clubs, societies, unions and associations with mandates that align with the United Nation’s (UN) Sustainability Development Goals (SDGs).

Source: The inventory has been created based on the keywords from the UN SDGs, as provided the following table. The groups were identified through student group networks, searches of the U of T ULife website, University of Toronto’s Environmental Research Network (UTERN) and other university websites and networks.

Methodology: The list is organized by affiliation or topic, including subject-focused groups, college-based groups, and student unions. The list includes the group name, student contact and email, how the group was identified for the inventory, the school year till the contact has been last updated and the social media accounts of the groups, based on information availability in the sources. A total of 130 sustainability-focused student entities have been identified in the inventory.

Disclaimer: The following table contains the inventory. If you are a member of the U of T community and you believe a student entity should be added to or removed or information edited from the inventory, please contact us.

Group/Club/Association/Society/UnionKey ContactEmailWebsiteTwitterInstagramFacebookSDGs
UTERNRaymond Dangutern.toronto@gmail.comWebsite@UTERNtoronto@utern.uoft@uofternSDG 3, SDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15
Leap Chapter UofT Rivka Goetzleapuoft@gmail.comWebsite@leapuoftSDG 7, SDG 13
Regenesis UofTNaomi Alontoronto@regenesis.ecoWebsite@regenesistorontoSDG 8, SDG 11, SDG 16
UofT Environmental Action (UTEA)Micaela Tamutea.utoronto@gmail.comWebsite@UTEAtoronto@uteatoronto@UTEAtorontoSDG 6, SDG 7, SDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15
Environmental Sustainability Society (ESS)Jessica Urbach, Alexandria Gilljessica.urbach@mail.utoronto.caSDG 7, SDG 11, SDG 14, SDG 15, SDG 16
Green Hope Foundation (GHF)Kehkashan Basukehkashan.basu@mail.utoronto.caWebsite@GreenHopeFoundationUofTSDG 3, SDG 4, SDG 10, SDG 16
University of Toronto Sustainability Commissionsustainability@utsu.caWebsiteSDG 3, SDG 11, SDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15, SDG 16
U of T BeesSue Min Kimbees.utoronto@gmail.comWebsite@UofTBEES@uoftbees@uoftbeeSDG 15
Green Majority Radiostefan@greensocietycampaign.orgWebsite@greenmajority@greenmajoritySDG 13, SDG 16
Future-Living Lab (UTFLL)Benjamin Mumford, Calvin Kwanfuturelivinglab.to@gmail.comWebsite@FutureLivingLab@futurelivinglab@FutureLivingLabSDG 9
Hart House Student Social Justice CommitteeDanielle Dinunzio (Staff)hhsocialjustice@gmail.com; danielle.dinunzio@utoronto.ca Website@harthouseuoft@harthouseuoft@HartHouseUofTSDG 16
Hart House Student Farm CommitteeCynthia Nevinsfarm.committee@gmail.com
WebsiteSDG 3, SDG 15
CAFFIENDSMeghan Hendersoncaffiends@gmail.comWebsite@CaffiendsVic@caffiendsvic@caffiendsvicSDG 8, SDG 11, SDG 16
Dig In! Campus Agriculture Network (DICAN)Kristy Barddigin@regenesis.ecoWebsite@DigIn_UofT@uoft_campusag@campusagricultureSDG 15
University of Toronto International Health Program (UTIHP)Aneeka Dogracodirectors@utihp.caWebsite@UTIHP@utihp@utihpSDG 3
Enactus UofTStephanie Leeenactusutsg@gmail.comWebsite@enactus.uoft@enactusuoftSDG 8, SDG 9, SDG 11
Green Chemistry Initiative at UofTKevin Szkopgreen.chemistry@utoronto.caWebsite@GreenChemUofT@greenchemuoft@GreenChemUofTSDG 9
Green China (UTGC)Minxuan Zhangutgreenchina@gmail.comSDG 6, SDG 13, SDG 15
Jane Goodall’s Roots & Shoots: U of T ChapterKaitlyn Philiproots.shoots.uoft@gmail.comWebsite@uoftrsSDG 11, SDG 15
Outing Club (UTOC)Mikhail Schee, Jonathan Waughutoc@utoronto.caWebsite@UofTOutingClubSDG 3, SDG 11
UofT Shoreline CleanupSimona Tsouoftshorelinecleanup@gmail.comWebsite@uoftshorelinecleanupSDG 12, SDG 14
Tzu Chi Collegiate Association (UTTC)Shuxin Chenutoronto.tc@gmail.comWebsite@uttzuching@UofTtzuchingSDG 4, SDG 15
VegClubKim St-Cyrvegclub@utoronto.caWebsite@VegClubUofT@vegclubuoft@vegclubuoftSDG 3, SDG 15
Water.org - University of Toronto Chapter (WOUTC)Ashfar Basharwaterorg.utc@gmail.comWebsite@waterorgutc@waterorgutcSDG 6, SDG 14
Water Environment Association of Ontario U of T ChapterYucong Shiweaouoft@gmail.com@WEAOUOFT@WEAOUofTSDG 6, SDG 14
Ontario Water Works Association U of T Student Chapterowwasc@utoronto.caWebsite@UofTOWWASDG 6, SDG 14
FUUDYxiao han, yuyan gaox.han@utoronto.caSDG 2
GenHomeSara Rasikh, Shruti Misrasararasikh2000@gmail.com@GenerationHomeeSDG 2
Activists Against Poverty in GuyanaVikash Gopalgopalvikash@hotmail.comSDG 1
Taj Aerospace Medicine (A.Taj)alireza tajikalireza.tajik@mail.utoronto.caSDG 3, SDG 9
University of Toronto MEDLIFE Chapter (UTSG MEDLIFE)Michael De Biasioutsg.medlife@gmail.comWebsite@utsg.medlife@UTSGMEDLIFESDG 3, SDG 4, SDG 11
African Impact Initiative (AII)Osaretin Obanocanada@africanimpactinitiative.comWebsite@AfricanimpactCA@africanimpactca@africanimpactinitiativeSDG 3, SDG 8, SDG 16
(U)TH WITHOUT BORDERS (UWOB)Alexandra Klapuschakalexandra.klapuschak@mail.utoronto.caWebsite@uthwobordersSDG 1, SDG 10
Academic Alliance at the University of TorontoKin Yan Tinguoftacademicalliance@gmail.comSDG 4
ALPHA Education - U of T Chapter (UT ALPHA)Meichen Yiuoftalpha@gmail.comWebsite@alphauoftSDG 16
Carbon Cutting Racers (UTSM)Peter Di Palmasupermileage@utoronto.caWebsite@UTCarbonCutting@teamutsm@teamutsmSDG 7, SDG 13
UofT TreesDana Dallaldana.dallal04@gmail.com
WebsiteSDG 13, SDG 15
Ecomode: Sustainable Initiative (Ecomode)?projectecomode@gmail.com@_ecomode_SDG 3
Fair Trade CommitteeElizabeth Bertozzelizabeth.bertozzi@mail.utoronto.ca@FairTradeUofT@fairtradeuoft@FairTrade.UofTSDG 8, SDG 16
Emerging Leaders for Environmental Sustainability in Healthcare
Anna Cooper Reed, Danielle Toccalinoeleshtoronto@gmail.comWebsite@ELESHToronto@ELESHTorontoSDG 3, SDG 15
Climate Action TorontoFranklin Perezclimateactiontoronto@gmail.comWebsite@weareTCAN@wearetcan@weareTCANSDG 13, SDG 16
Green Up Initiative (GUI)Fiona Limgreenupinitiative@gmail.comWebsite@greenup_initiative@greenupinitiativeSDG 3, SDG 15
Blue Sky Solar RacingLeo Hanblueskysolar@utoronto.caWebsite@blueskysolar77@blueskysolar77@blueskysolarSDG 7, SDG 13, SDG 16
Hydrogeologists Without Borders University of Toronto Student Chapter (HWB)Natalie Szponarnatalie.szponar@mail.utoronto.caWebsiteSDG 14
Animal Liberation (AL) ClubIshtar Rashidzadehanimalliberation@utoronto.caAnimal Liberation U of TSDG 15
Bottles Without Borders (BwB)Itamar Zaltzmanitamar.zaltzman@mail.utoronto.caSDG 12
Chinese Philosophy and Environmental Psychology AssociationJieyu Wujieyu.emily.wu@gmail.comSDG 3, SDG 16
Biotechnology Enthusiast Interest Group (BEIG)Cyrus Yeungcyrus.yeung@mail.utoronto.caSDG 3, SDG 15
Bridges to Community Canada - U of T Chapter (BTCC - U of T)Matthew Renaudbtcc@utoronto.caWebsite@BridgestoCommunityCanadaSDG 3, SDG 11
CanIECA UofT Student ClubSylvie Spraakmansylvie.spraakman@mail.utoronto.caWebsiteSDG 9
Climate Pledge Collective U of T (CPCUT)Myrtle MillaresclimatepledgecoUofT@protonmail.comWebsite@Climatepledgeco@climatepledgecollective@ClimatePledgeCollectiveSDG 13
Committee for Human Rights in the Philippines (UofTCHRP)Muriam Salmanmuriam.salman@mail.utoronto.caSDG 16
New College Student Council (Sustainability Commissioner)Jordan Saroya
ejc.toronto@gmail.com
SDG 15, SDG 16
FOR A BETTER TOMORROW (FABT)Astha Vyasforabettertomorrow01@gmail.com@ForABetterTomorrowSDG 1, SDG 3, SDG 11
Green Association (UofT Grass)Terry LuanP: 7055005960https://www.facebook.com/groups/566719097369576SDG 13, SDG 15
One for the World UofT (OFTW)Titobi Wuraolatitobi.wuraola@mail.utoronto.cahttps://www.facebook.com/groups/616097522148675SDG 1
Plastic Free Association (PFA)Hoang Anh Phamhoanganhvodoi96@gmail.com@TOplasticfreeSDG 12
Science for Peace (SfP)Dorsa Nouri Partosfpuoft@gmail.comWebsite@ScienceforPeaceUofTSDG 16
Sustainable City Toronto (SCT)Lindsey Pengsustainablecitytoronto@gmail.comhttps://www.facebook.com/Sustainable-City-Toronto-2295718717327812/?ref=nf&hc_ref=ARQn_SQcy2pKW3OXyRJXK4I4cMRuSkpF9Bw7IcIF6cvqEoZ99lafEgpMOoGIlYEiN5sSDG 11
Sustainable Development Network (SDN)Shams Rehmanshams.rahman@mail.utoronto.caWebsiteSDG 11, SDG 16
The Ontario Public Interest Research Group (OPIRG) - Toronto (OPIRG Toronto)Julia Da Silvaopirg.toronto@utoronto.caWebsite@OPIRGToronto@opirgtoronto@OPIRG.TorontoSDG 10, SDG 13, SDG 16
University of Toronto Environmental Law Club (UTELC)Cristin Huntutenvirolawclub@gmail.comhttps://www.facebook.com/groups/750886254976710/SDG 10, SDG 16
University of Toronto Global BrigadesMarnie Wanguoftglobalbrigades@gmail.comWebsite@UofTGBSDG 1, SDG 3, SDG 8, SDG 10, SDG 13, SDG 16
UofT Formula ElectricIfaz Uddinuoftformulaelectric@gmail.comWebsite@uoftfsaehttps://www.facebook.com/uoftfsae/SDG 7, SDG 9, SDG 13
Urban Design Association of the University of Toronto (UDAUT)Rudan zhengwinnerli006@gmail.comWebsiteSDG 9, SDG 11
UofT PAWSuoftpaws@gmail.com@uoftpawsSDG 14, SDG 15
Greenpeace Student Network (UTGPSN)
Julia KimUTGPSN@gmail.com
SDG 11, SDG 16
Scientific Society for Environmental Health & Green Energy (SEHGE)
Sina Kiani
sina.kiani@mail.utoronto.ca
SDG 3, SDG 7, SDG 13
Interdisciplinary Global Health Club (IGHC)
Tharsha Ravichakaravarthy
t.ravichakaravarthy@mail.utoronto.ca
WebsiteSDG 3, SDG 15
Food & Friends (F&Fs)Tian Yeu Lee
tian.lee@mail.utoronto.ca
WebsiteSDG 2
Women and Gender Studies Students' Union (WGSSU)Stephani Choiwgssu.utoronto@gmail.comWebsite@WGSSU@wgssu@WGSSUSDG 5, SDG 10
Victoria College Sustainability Commissionsustainability@vusac.caWebsite@sustainabilityatvicSDG 11, SDG 15
Trinity College Environmental Society - TCESFacebook message@trinitycollege_environment@trinitycollegeenvironmentalsocietySDG 11, SDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15
New College Student Council (Sustainability Commissioner)Dany Mengsustainability@ncsc.caWebsite@myncsc@myncscSDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15
Woodsworth Student Association (Community Outreach and Sustainability Director) Marley Greenbergoutreach@mywcsa.comWebsite@myWCSA@mywcsa@myWCSASDG 3, SDG 11
UC Sustainability Commissionsustainability@uclit.caWebsiteSDG 3, SDG 11, SDG 16
Innis Sustainabilitysustainability.icss@gmail.com
WebsiteSDG 3, SDG 11, SDG 16
Clean SMCJuliano Baggieriteam.cleansmc@gmail.com@cleansmc@cleansmcSDG 11, SDG 12
Environmental Students’ Union (ENSU)Farida Abdelmeguied, Greg Seljak, Megan Devisensu.utoronto@gmail.comWebsite@uoftensuSDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15, SDG 16
USEA-Undergraduate Earth Sciences AssociationJessica Pattersonuesauoft@gmail.comWebsite@UofTUESASDG 15
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Graduate Student AssociationRobert Williamsonrobert.williamson@utoronto.caWebsitehttps://www.facebook.com/groups/184155518261184/SDG 14, SDG 15
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Undergraduate AssociationRebecca Michaels, Maryam Wasimeebu.mail@gmail.comWebsite@eebu.uoft@UofTEEBUSDG 14, SDG 15
Toronto Undergraduate Geography SocietyAlex Walton, Catalina Barinasuoft.tugs@gmail.comWebsite@tugs.uoft@TUGSStGeorgeSDG 15
University of Toronto Foresters' ClubJulia Spina, Hannah Freedbergforestersclub1617@gmail.comWebsite@forestersclubSDG 15
Munk Students’ Environmental Working GroupMichael Chen (President)munkglobalconversations@gmail.comWebsite@MunkEWGSDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15
Women and the Lawwomen.utlaw@gmail.comSDG 5, SDG 10, SDG 16
UofT CECA/NECA Student ChapterSarah De Sousaceca.uoft@gmail.comWebsite@cecauoftSDG 9
Sustainable Engineers AssociationCassey Shaochair@sea.skule.caWebsite@SEAUofT@seauoft@SEAUofTSDG 9
ASHRAE UofTMargo Rooksashraeutoronto@gmail.com, helen.stopps@utoronto.caWebsite@ashraeutorontoSDG 9
Fair Trade U of TElizabeth Bertozzi, Kelsey Romboutselizabeth.bertozzi@mail.utoronto.ca@FairTradeUofT@FairTrade.UofTSDG 8, SDG 11
Global Engineering ClubMorris Huang, Phil Lu
geweek.canada@gmail.comWebsiteSDG 8, SDG 9
University of Toronto Human Powered Vehicles Design TeamCalvin Moes, Joshua Madero (Captain)hpv@hpvdt.skule.caWebsite@hpvdt.skuleSDG 8, SDG 9, SDG 11
Equitable Food Systems - EWBfood.ewbuoft@gmail.com
WebsiteSDG 2
Civil Engineering ClubNicholas Nico Valentoncivclub@skule.caWebsite@civclub@civclub@civclubSDG 9, SDG 11
The Green Engineering Initiative (GEI)Nina Faracgreen.eng.in.to@gmail.comSDG 9
GSU Environmental Justice and Sustainability CommitteeLeonardo Jose Uribe Castanocivics@utgsu.caWebsite@utgsuSDG 10, SDG 11, SDG 16
Graduate Environmental Students' Association (GESA)Selah Edlingtongesa.utoronto@gmail.comWebsite@GESAatUofTSDG 10, SDG 11, SDG 13, SDG 16
Graduate Geography and Planning Student Society (GGAPSS)Keisha St Louis-McBurnieperrottk@geog.utoronto.caWebsiteSDG 11, SDG 14, SDG 15
Medical Biophysics Graduate Studet AssociationJessica Petriccambpgsa@gmail.comWebsiteSDG 3, SDG 9, SDG 15
Urban Design Association UofTProf. Nan Liwinnerli006@gmail.comWebsiteSDG 9, SDG 11
Rotman Net ImpactAndrea Aramayo Balboanetimpact@rotman.utoronto.ca, vamika.bajaj20@rotman.utoronto.caWebsite@RotmanNetImpact@rotmannetimpactSDG 3, SDG 8, SDG 11, SDG 15, SDG 16
Rotman Energy and Natural Resources Association (RENRA)Amanda Lewisrenra@rotman.utoronto.caWebsitehttps://www.facebook.com/groups/rotmanenergySDG 3, SDG 7, SDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15
Erindale Biology Society (UTM)Tulip Marawibiology@utmsu.caWebsite@utmEBS@utmEBSSDG 14, SDG 15
UTM Student Association for Geography and Environment (SAGE)Jihan Khatibsage@utmsu.caWebsite@UTMSAGESDG 14, SDG 15
UTM Zero WasteAlanah Joycezerowasteutm@utmsu.ca@zerowasteutm@zerowasteutm@ZeroWasteUTMSDG 12
UTSC Environmental and Physical Sciences Students’ Association Michael Clementpresident@myepsa.caWebsite@EPSA@myepsa@myEPSASDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15
UTSC Geography and City Studies Student Association (GCSA)Aybuke Yayangcsa.utoronto@gmail.com@gcsa_utsc@GCSAutscSDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15
UNICEF (UTM-U )Zainab Umarzainab.umar@mail.utoronto.ca@unicef_utm@unicef_utmSDG 4, SDG 5, SDG 10, SDG 16
EnviroCare Organization (ECO)Liam Quartermaineco.utsc@gmail.comSDG 14, SDG 15
Environmental Sustainable Society
essutsc@gmail.com
SDG 13, SDG 15
Animal Rights Club (ARC)Joshita Sehgaljoshita.sehgal@mail.utoronto.caSDG 15
Entrepreneurial Action UsMichel Yi-Hao Tianutscenactus@gmail.comSDG 8, SDG 9, SDG 12
Regenisis UTSCMarie Antoinette Miclatutsc@regenesis.ecoWebsite@regenesisutsc@regenesisUTSCSDG 8, SDG 11, SDG 16
Human Concern UTSCHusniya Naushadhci.utsc@gmail.com@humanconcernutscSDG 3, SDG 11, SDG 16
Oxfam Canada at UTSCAriana Heeramanocutsc@gmail.com@OxfamCanadaAtUTSCSDG 1, SDG 10, SDG 16
Social Justice ClubMaryam Yousefipournigjehsocialjustice@utmsu.ca@socialjusticeclub.utmSDG 16
University of Toronto Mississauga Global Brigades (UTMGB)Deryk Vuglobal.brigades@utmsu.caWebsiteSDG 1, SDG 3, SDG 6, SDG 10, SDG 16
UTM Residence Council (UTMRC)Larasati Wulandarirescouncil.utm@utoronto.caWebsite@UTMRC@utmrc@utmrcSDG 3, SDG 11
UTSC Parks Canada Club (UTSC PCC)Ayuni Ratnaykeutscparkscanada@gmail.com@UTSCPCCSDG 3, SDG 11
World University Service of Canada (WUSC)Aeda Bhagalooutsc.wusc@gmail.comWebsiteSDG 4, SDG 10, SDG 11, SDG 16
Young Greens (UTM YG)Eaman Tareeneaman.tareen@mail.utoronto.caWebsiteSDG 8, SDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15
Women and Gender Studies Student Alliance (WGSA)Kafia Abdulkaderkafia.abdulkader@mail.utoronto.caSDG 5, SDG 10
UTM Women's CentreAmrit Gillutmwomenscentre@gmail.comWebsiteSDG 5, SDG 10
Ecology and Spirituality at UofTRichard Chambersrichard.chambers@utoronto.caWebsitehttps://www.facebook.com/groups/NCCommunityGarden/SDG 13, SDG 14, SDG 15
BikeChainAnna Van Weringhbikechainuoft@gmail.comWebsite@BikechainUT@bikechainut@bikechainUTSDG 3, SDG 11
The Taste of Vegetarianism (UTTV)Crystal Caothetasteofvegclub@gmail.com@UTtasteofvegSDG 3, SDG 15
University College Residence Council (UCRC)Steven (Yuxuan) Zhuucrc@uclit.ca@ucrescouncil@UCResCouncilSDG 11
University of Toronto St. George Parks Canada Campus Club (UTSGPCCC)Veronica Mckelveyutsgpccc@gmail.comSDG 3, SDG 11
MoveUmoveucrew@utoronto.caWebsite@MoveUofTSDG 3